Chaylee

I’m disabled due to both mental and physical illnesses. Living on disability is hard, and it feels so much worse under the Trump administration. Every few weeks, I have to worry about losing my life-saving Medicaid, having my Social Security slashed, having my food stamps cut, or losing my HUD housing assistance. Thanks to GOP policies, I have already had my food stamps cut, and I receive only $64 to buy food every month. Trump seems to be on board with keeping disabled people both poor and “in their place.” The GOP in general does not care about the poor or the sick, and neither does Trump. Every single month, I get physically sick, worrying about how I’m going to get by on so very few resources. The constant threat of losing the very small amount of help I already have also makes me physically ill. Living in extreme poverty, due to my disabilities, only makes me even more sick. It’s time our government takes care of its disabled citizens. It’s also time that the government stops attacking and harming those of us with chronic pain who rely on opioids just to live a somewhat “normal” life. Some days it feels like I’m being attacked from all sides. Our existence as disabled individuals should NOT be this stressful.

Photo description: a picture of me, Chaylee, with short red hair, a silver nose ring, and a dark orange/red sweater.

Leave a comment